Published: October 4, 2019

Australian Retirement Village Accreditation Scheme (ARVAS) Standards

The Australian Retirement Village Accreditation Scheme (ARVAS) will be the new exclusive accreditation scheme for retirement village and seniors housing operators.

ARVAS is co-owned by two organisations that represent the owners and operators of retirement villages and seniors housing: Property Council of Australia and Leading Age Services Australia (LASA).

ARVAS replaces two previous schemes, Lifemark and International Retirement Community Accreditation Scheme (IRCAS). The ARVAS Standards, currently in draft and published for industry consultation and feedback comprise seven quality areas:

• Standard 1 – Community Management – The Community is managed efficiently and effectively; the manager is a positive and proactive leader of the team with a strong customer service orientation.
• Standard 2 – Human Resource Management – Employment management practices ensure that the quality and quantity of staff are sufficient to meet operational needs.
• Standard 3 – Resident Entry and Exit – Processes for managing resident entry and exit are effective and focus on a positive resident experience.
• Standard 4 – Resident Engagement and Feedback – Engages residents effectively.
• Standard 5 – Environment, Services and Facilities – The environment, service and facilities are managed in accordance with contractual obligations and managed effectively.
• Standard 6 – Safety and Security – Processes for managing safety and security are effective.
• Standard 7 – Resident Care (where applicable) – Residents receive safe, high quality care consistent with their needs and preferences.

Read more:

Australian Retirement Village Accreditation Scheme (ARVAS) Standards

Contact manad plus

Send a message

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Give us a call

Management Advantage Pty Ltd
Suite 2, 430 Rae Street
Fitzroy North
VIC 3068
1300 62 62 32


1300 62 62 32